Awestruck by teaching, part deux

Turtle by Andrea Zuill

Turtle by Andrea Zuill

Our story continues with awesome news: One of my students, Andrea Zuill (see Awestruck, part 1), just earned a 2011 Mentorship award at the 40th Society of Children’s Book Writers Summer Conference, alongside five other winners at their Annual Portfolio Showcase.

According to Andrea, it all started with author/illustrator Lori Mitchell recommending she attend SCBWI meetings.  She writes:

“. . . having a portfolio review with David Diaz;  going to your class;  meeting with my critique group; and going to Priscilla Burris‘s (SCBWI-San Diego) portfolio workshop. . . . I can’t believe I won the mentorship!  When I walked into the showcase I started grabbing promotional cards from all of the fantastic illustrators there. . . .  Within minutes of starting the showcase they called the winners’ names, and surreally they called mine!. . . I was totally blown away!”

“I was very excited to meet up with the mentors (E.B. Lewis, David Diaz, Priscilla Burris, Cecilia Yung, and Pat Cummings), soaking up what they had to say, and putting their recommendations into action.

So, today I will be taking the day off.  I am so freakin’ tired (having just returned from the Conference) that I can’t think straight.  But lastly I will say that without your class and advice I would definitely not have gotten as far as I have, so from the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU! — Yours in near comatose condition, Andrea”

Read more about the event here. The experiences of last year’s crop of mentees and this year’s are documented here.

Check out Andrea’s website, featuring her winning portfolio, here.

Kudos, Andrea! Here’s a peek at a few of her character studies….

More about teaching adventures to be continued. . .

 

 

2 responses to “Awestruck by teaching, part deux

  1. Carmina Caballes

    That is so cool! Thanks for sharing. Congrats to Andrea!

    • @ Everyone: Carmina is another distinguished alumna of my workshop, class of 2010 🙂

      @ Carmina: I’ll bet you’ve been soaking up new ideas! Let me know what you’ve been up to, whenever you can. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

